maholy nage w camera 2 300 x 200

The Oyler House: Richard Neutra's Desert Retreat

A First Run Features Film Release, Directed by Michael Dorsey


2023 Lincoln Winter Carnival Screening

Thursday, February 2, 2023 @ 6PM

Lincoln Library

Free event, all are welcome.

The screening starts promptly at 6 p.m.; please join FoMA for a reception after the screening.


A strong relationship to site is a hallmark of great architecture. And one of the enduring qualities of great Modern architecture is a strong connection between the interior spaces and outside qualities of the specific site.

The Oyler House: Richard Neutra's Desert Retreat explores how a modest house carefully designed for an exceptional site results in a memorable and unique place.

As Richard Oyler, who originally commissioned and built the house says:

“I can be in the living room or wherever, and I’m outdoors too. You know, the full spectrum. That’s a wonderful thing. You can’t imagine what it is on a moonlit night here, or a dark night when the stars are just busting themselves.”

In 1959, Oyler invited Richard Neutra, based in Los Angeles, and one of the leading architects of twentieth century, to visit his site in the desert expanse of Lone Pine, California. He didn’t expect that the prominent Neutra, whom Time Magazine had been on it's cover, would take on his modest project. But Neutra was captivated by the site and its environs, leading to a unique collaboration between architect and client. While the house was designed to be cost-effective (Oyler constructed some of it himself), it still exemplifies Neutra’s masterful techniques that dissolve the barrier between indoors and out.

The design of the Oyler house resonates with Lincoln's modern architecture, where careful attention to specific site qualities has enabled architects to celebrate and enrich the experience of living with the land in modest homes. The film highlights a place that remains a valuable example of how Modern principles and sensibilities continue to resonate and enrich our lives today.

2023 oyler house view 800 x 400


FoMA is dedicated to increasing awareness of Lincoln's 20th Century Modern Houses by: publishing, documenting, hosting events such a House Tours, presenting Lectures and Symposia and screening Films